top of page

Granite County Primary Election Results

PHILLIPSBURG – Granite County turned out Tuesday to cast its ballots in the 2020 Primary Election.

Ballots were either cast via mail or in person with all votes due in the county elections office by 8 p.m. Tuesday night.

Local, state and national offices were on the June 2 ballot. State and national primaries must be combined with their respective vote totals at the state level to determine a final tally.

According to the Montana Secretary of State website, Granite County saw a solid turnout for the all mail-in balloting with 1,425 of the 2,280 registered voters taking part. That equates to 62.5% of the electorate.

The only local race that was decided Tuesday was who would be the Republican candidate for the District 1 seat on the Granite County Commissioners. Blanche McLure won the primary handily over Timothy Luthje, 707-270.

McLure won easily in each of the four voting precincts in Granite County, including the centrally located Hall Precinct #9 where the residents she will represent voted for her 142-62 over Luthje.

“The reason I did this in the first place is to make a positive difference,” said McLure Wednesday of her victory. “I very much appreciate the victory. I still have to go through the General Election, but going forward I just want us (commissioners) to work as a team and be a team player. “It’s kind of scary, but I hope the three of us can work together, with the other elected officials and the general public. That’s my promise to do the best that I can. That’s why I ran.”

McLure received congratulatory phone calls from northern area commissioner Scott Adler and Bill Slaughter, whose seat she looks to take over come the November election.

Mark Sweeney won the Democratic nomination for the Montana Senate District 39 seat over Gordon Pierson with 55% of the vote. Suzanne Nordwick ran as the sole Republican and will face off with Sweeney in November.

Sara Novak (D) and Heather Blom (R) both ran unopposed for the their parties in the House District 77 race and will campaign against each other in the General Election.

For complete results from the June 2 Primary CLICK HERE.

NOTE – All results are UNOFFICIAL until the ballots have been canvassed by the County Commissioners June 16, 2020.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page